NewsBoxing News

2022 Thomas Sarge Johnson Scholarship Recipients Announced

by USA Boxing

USA Boxing recently announced the members that were awarded one of the 2022 Thomas Sarge Johnson Scholarships presented by the USA Boxing Foundation. 

This year the USA Boxing Foundation awarded $50,000 in scholarships to 18 different student-athletes who are currently enrolled in post-secondary college or trade school with a GPA of 2.0 or higher. 

A complete list of scholarship recipients, as well as their college and planned course of study can be seen below.

Scholarship Recipients

Angel Barrera, University of Illinois at Chicago, Entrepreneurship

David Del Toro, College of Western ID, Automotive Tech/Small Business

Orion Flores, Washington State University – Tri-Cities, Elementary Education

Esmeralda Gonzalez, Dallas College, Kinesiology

Omari Jones, Valencia College, Business Administration/Marketing

Reecan Juarez, Vanderbilt University, Chemistry

John Laughlin, University of Cincinnati, Engineering/Industrial Management

Alycia Link, National University, Applied Behavior Analysis

Aaron Lopen, Pasco-Hernando State College, Nursing

Noe Mendoza Jr., University of Texas – Rio Grande Valley, Arts in Communication

Jake Nugent, Cleveland State University, Computer Engineering

Marcos Saucedo Jr., Grand Rapids Community College, Manufacturing/Applied Tech

Amanda Sendejo, University of Texas -San Antonio, Business Administration/Marketing

Eugene Sommers, University of Minnesota – Duluth, Tribal Administration and Governance

RomanSotelo, Houston Community College, Barbering

Alfred Vargas, UC Berkeley, Chemical Engineering

Jaydon Vigil, UNLV, Kinesiology

Terrence Williams, Pasco-Hernando State College, Associate of Arts